collage of 2023 library award winners

The 2023 Library Award Recipients

Georgia Public Library Service is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Georgia Public Library Awards, which honor public libraries and their champions who have made a profound difference in their communities. Award winners are selected from nominations submitted by library patrons, trustees, Friends of Libraries groups, and staff, showcasing the best and brightest who serve in public libraries throughout the state.

The annual Georgia Public Library Awards honor the outstanding achievements of public library leaders, staff, and champions.

This year, we celebrate:

  • Cobb County Public Library has been awarded Library of the Year;
  • Alan Harkness of Chattahoochee Valley Libraries is Director of the Year;
  • Lydia Hahne, business manager at Hall County Library System, is Library Employee of the Year;
  • Michael L. Thurmond, chief executive officer of DeKalb County, is Library Champion of the Year; and
  • Kathryn Ames, former director of Athens Regional Library System, has received this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.